Random Acts of a Kindness~1 step at a time…

This will be a short post but is worth sharing. Yesterday I had to go drop in over and pick up a prescription for Daisy Dog. As I was walking through the parking lot toward my car I noticed a woman struggling with a cart. It was empty but she was trying to maneuver it. I stopped what I was doing and offered to take it from her. Please, I wasn’t “doing” anything. the cart drop off was on my path to my car.

image

She released the cart to me and I proceeded to move with it. At about this point she called out to me and walked over. She thanked me for going the extra step to make a difference. She told me about the lessons she consistently teaches the young kids about making a difference a “step at a time.” She explained that offering to help when most walk away is the definition of “1 step at a time.”

Yesterday was one of “those” days. I had to go to another store that actually had the prescription for Daisy. While there an older woman dropped her cane while pushing the cart. I walked over and picked it up. I certainly didn’t want her to fall while trying to maneuver.

Moral of the story, it only takes being aware of your surroundings to help someone and make a difference in their day. Both ladies thanked me and reminded me that the small things that I do which are part of my character, make a difference.

Made me think of my own father and the day that he called me as he had fallen in the backyard. Mom and I were in Target and I asked for her keys and ran to get in the car and get to their house. I never maneuvered through a store and parking lot so quickly knowing my father needed help and called me.

I would give anything to have a few more conversations with my pops. It’s things like this that remind me that he’s still with me. Thanks for the reminder dad, I hear you loud and clear. Please make an effort to help someone TODAY. Random acts of kindness makes the world a better place one step at a time.

Have a great day. Signed… Upshabby

Leave a Reply

